I don’t know why I don’t blog much anymore, other than trying to get some much-needed writing done. I’m on chapter 3 of Paid in Full. Jesse and Lizzy are about to meet for the first time–and that meeting isn’t going to go well. (rubbing hands together with glee)

I’ve been on a self-imposed hiatus from the net–well, as much as I can be. I still have to keep up an on-line presence. Inventing the Abbotts comes out Aug 21st and I need to keep myself out there.

I have a local booksigning for Fire & Ice coming up Aug 18th at 2:00. If you’re in the St. Louis area please stop by for a chance to win a Fire & Ice gift basket. Tons of stuff from perfume to candles and candy. Also, Barnes and Noble has a author fair coming up (no date set yet) but I’m going to get to be a part of that too. I’ll let you know exact date when I know. Matt West(Straight Talk) also asked me to do another spot to help advertise for the booksigning–He’s such a nice guy.

I got the new Michael Buble`CD Call Me Irresponsible–an early birthday present from my daughter. Wonderful, wonderful. I so love his style.

Anyway, I leave you with a snippet for Inventing the Abbotts.

Ava glanced up and stilled when she saw Thorn heading toward her in a pair of blue low-slung trunks.

Lord have mercy. She would have never guessed he looked that good under his clothes.

From beneath the cover of her sunglasses, she allowed her gaze to glide from his taut, well-defined chest to a flat, sculpted stomach lightly peppered with sandy-colored hair. Then her attention drifted lower to the bulge apparent beneath his trunks.

What the hell are you doing, Ava? Thorn’s like a brother. You definitely shouldn’t be checking that out.

When her gaze returned to his face, she was amazed at how handsome he was without his glasses.

Her mouth went dry.

She averted her eyes and took another sip of her drink, her heart thudding out of control.

Why the sudden awareness of Thorn “Mr. Gadget” Abbott? Had to be the six-month dry spell she’d had. That kind of drought would affect any woman. Why else would she look this way at a man she’d thought of as a sibling?

“What are you wearing?” Thorn asked when he reached her side.

She shook her head to clear it. “What?”

His light gray eyes turned stormy as they darted over her scantily clad figure.

Ava had expected this. “It’s called a bikini.”

He snorted. “It looks like two scraps of material held together by even smaller scraps.”

She took another drink. “Sit down, Thorn. You’re blocking my sun.” Her annoyance was clear and concise. If he knew what was good for him, he’d drop the subject or she’d have to tell him where he could shove his evaluation.

He plopped into the chaise lounge next to hers. “Do you want to draw every man for miles?”

“Of course. Isn’t that every woman’s goal?” She arched a brow. “What took you so long anyway, and why is your hair wet?”

Ava reached over and laced her fingers through Thorn’s damp, sandy hair. It was one of the things she loved about him. When the sun hit it just right, the color and texture reminded her of a field of late summer wheat. The tufts brought to mind a carefree time in her youth—days spent on her farm in Kansas—days that shaped who she was today.

His eyes narrowed as he swatted her hand away. “Cut it out.”

“Excuse me.” Ava stuck out her bottom lip. “I didn’t know you had such an aversion to my touch. I’ll have to make a note of that.” She sat her glass down and pretended to pick up an imaginary pencil and scribbled. “Thorn hates for me to touch him. So make sure you do so as much as possible.”

She glanced at him, caught his look of derision and laughed.

“Get serious, Ava. We have a lot of work to do before your first meeting with Grayson.”

“Yes, sir,” she said, saluting him . “But first I must get the perfect tan and a Naked Lady.”

His forehead furrowed. “Naked lady? What would you need a naked lady for?”

“It’s a drink, silly.” She lifted her glass toward him. “Surely you didn’t think I’d gone over to the other camp?”

He stared at her with a disapproving glint in his stony gaze. “With you, Ava, nothing would surprise me.”

