I know I haven’t written in my blog for a long time and I had promised to do better, but life happened to get in the way.

First off, I wish I could say I was writing. I’m not. A series of things have knocked me off my desk chair. I won’t bore you with what, it’d take too long.

I finished my first round of edits for Caddy-Did, received the draft for my cover, which I really like (thanks Vanessa) and have started a new book–one chapter completed. I still haven’t finished The Deal. Insecurity has a choke hold on me right now and I can’t get out of it. I think this has been coming on for a long time.

While I wait for my muse to come back, I’m reading Plot & Structure by James Scott Bell and The Templar code for Dummies. One book is to help make me a better writer, the other is research for my latest wip, Peruvian Knights. No, I’m not going to write what I know. Rasberries to that. I want to write about something that fascinates me. I don’t care if it is received well by reviewers, publishers, agents and the like. I’ve realized that if I don’t enjoy writing something, I won’t write. 

Currently, I’m looking for a part-time job. I think I’ve been a stay-at-home mom long enough. I need to be out around people. Make some new friends–one’s I can use as characters in a book some day. Be forewarded futures buddies.

We have a new kitten we acquired about a month ago. We found him crying at our door. His names is Shadow and he is healthy, happy and a huge part of our family now. He’s a gray tabby and he is the best ever, even with him chewing up every cardboard box in sight.

I think I need to revisit what I used to love about writing. When I first started, I wrote pages and pages until my hand hurt–now I go over and over things until it loses its spark. I second guess myself in every scene–every word. Its become a job not a joy.  I want that joy back. Any suggestions on how to do that?

At this point, I think I’m rambling. I’ll say goodbye. I hope to be back tomorrow. Maybe I’ll have written something.

