I thought I’d post an excerpt from Aztec Security’s–Caddy-Did.

http://samhainpublishing.com/print/aztec-security-print

 

Excerpt

 

 

Cadence gritted her teeth as she followed Jameson down the hall to the firing range. Not a good place to start training when all she could think about was aiming for the man’s crotch.

What a jerk. Insinuating that she was into S & M. All because she was intelligent, something he apparently couldn’t handle.

Cadence trailed him down the corridor, hands fisted in anger, when he abruptly stopped in front of her. She collided with his back, one of her palms landing on his behind to keep her balance.

He turned, his gray eyes dancing with amusement. “I knew you wouldn’t be able to resist me. But you’ll have to try. I don’t date anyone from work.”

Cadence’s tilted her head back, narrowed her eyes, and shot back, “Don’t flatter yourself, Jameson. If we were stranded on a deserted island, I wouldn’t look twice at you.”

His lips curled up. “Right, well, then keep your hands off my ass.”

Cadence wanted to yank the man’s sandy-colored hair from his head, but thought better of it. “It was an accident. You don’t even have a nice behind.”

He laughed, then turned and opened the door in front of them.

As he entered the room, Cadence found herself staring at his firm rump to check.

Okay, she was wrong. He had a damn nice ass, but he was still the biggest jerk she’d ever met.

Once inside the room, Cadence glanced at the firing range to the right.

She’d never held a gun before and admitted to being intimidated by the idea. Guns killed people, and she wasn’t sure she could aim one at a person and pull the trigger.

Kent took his gun from the holster strapped to his shoulder and removed the clip.

“First lesson,” he said, waving the gun and clip in front of her. “Always know the number of rounds in your weapon.”

As Cadence stared at the gun, her breakfast sandwich threatened to come up. On impulse, she swallowed.

What the hell had she gotten herself into? If she couldn’t do what was expected, she might as well quit before wasting any more of Aztec’s time.

“You’re looking a little green, Ms. Fleming. You feel all right?”

She opened her mouth to respond but nothing came out.

He reached for her arm. “You need to sit down?”

She shook her head. You can do this, Caddy. Don’t allow this man to see weakness or he’ll use it against you.

“I’m fine.”

“Good. Now watch while I unload the clip, because I’ll expect you to reload it.”

With full attention on his fingers as they ejected each bullet, Cadence made a mental note of which direction they came out. After his demonstration, she was confident she could place them back into the clip the right way.

Standing next to him, she caught a whiff of alcohol and something else. Something familiar, yet she couldn’t place it. Something unpleasant. But what?

She was about to give up when it dawned on. She knew exactly what it was. Sex. The man reeked of intercourse.

She snorted, loud enough to cause Kent to look at her.

“What?” he asked, his gaze intent on hers.

“You stink of booze and nastiness.”

He frowned. “Nastiness? What the hell’s that?”

“I think you know.”

He rubbed his beard. “No, you’re going to have to spell it out for me.”

“Okay, S-E-X just oozes off you.”

“I’m surprised you know anything about it. Especially with your high and mighty attitude. I’d suggest you get some. Maybe you won’t be so uptight.”

His cavalier tone made the cut worse.

“Not that it’s any of your business, but I’ve had plenty, thank you. You could’ve at least showered this morning. Now I’m going to have to stand upwind of you.”

He grinned. “Why? Does it turn you on?”

Cadence huffed. “Just give me that damn clip.” She tried to rip it from his hand, but he held firm to the steel bar.

They stood glaring at one another until he blinked, then let go and backed away. “Don’t just stand there, refill the thing.”

Didn’t these things come already filled? Cadence picked up a handful of bullets, inserted them into the device, and was pleased with herself when she finished.

“Now unload it and do it again.”

Cadence stared at him, wondering if he did this with everyone he trained, or just her.

As she removed the rounds, she asked, “When am I going to get to shoot the gun?”

“First of all, it’s a weapon, a Glock, not a gun. Second, I’d have to help you aim the thing, and as you so rudely pointed out, the smell of sex makes you want to jump my bones, and I wouldn’t want to embarrass you by having to turn you down.”

Cadence had never wanted to hit someone so badly in her life. The man had an over-inflated ego that needed to be burst in the worst way.

“Look, Jameson. I don’t like you. I certainly don’t want to sleep with you. I’m here to be trained, that’s all. Got it?”

He saluted, then glanced at the clip in her hand. “I’m waiting.”

His attention unnerved her, but Cadence managed to remove the rounds, then quickly put them back.

Once she’d finished loading the clip, she slammed the thing into the weapon and laid it on the table. “Okay, now what?”

“You repeat it until you can do it in your sleep. Meanwhile, I’m going down to the lounge to get cleaned up. I wouldn’t want to offend your sensibilities any longer.”

 

 

 

 

 

