On my blog today I’m welcoming Bri Clark. She has a new book coming out soon with Astrea Press.

Hi, Bri. I’m so glad you came by to talk with me.

So, let’s get started. When did you first realize you wanted to be a writer?

Bri: In 2008 I was a hot shot southern Realtor and my husband and I owned a successful construction company. We owned rental properties as well. Then we started to lose everything. In order to have some sense of control I began exercising and losing myself in fiction. One day I was jogging, listening to the iphone and this scene jumped into my mind and I went home to write it down. 165k later I had my first two novels. I’ve never looked back.

Jerri: Wow, that’s quite the story, Bri. Where do you get your ideas for your books?

Bri: Music, movies, tv, random events. I think Stephen King put it best when he said, “Two previously unrelated ideas come together and make something new under the sun. Your job isn’t to find these ideas but to recognize them when they show up.”

Jerri : I like that, but then, Stephen King did say it. So, what do you like to do when you’re not writing?

Bri: Organize, gossip, socialize, clean, coupons, shop, date my hubby, church activities, volunteer in the community,

Jerri : Did you say organize? I am the most unorganized person I know. Maybe you can give me a few pointers. Clearly we both write romantic suspense or you wouldn’t be here. What do you think makes a good suspense?

Bri: When you give the reader just enough to keep them coming back. A good steady rhythm of comfort and surprise makes for good suspenseful fiction. Not one huge cliff hanger.

Jerri: I totally agree with that answer. Let’s talk about character now. Which of your characters is most/least like you, and in what way(s)?

Bri: So far that would be Shae Stryker. She is a sassy southern belle from Georgia in my novel Glazier. It will come out in 2011. However, Aisleen the protagonist of Familial Witch is one of my fave. She has been made strong through adversity but still has maintained her sense of ethics and love for all humanity and nature…even her enemies.

Jerri: So, which of your characters would you most/least want to invite to dinner, and why?

Bri: I would love to have Henry Tennison. He speaks with a well traveled British brogue. I could just listen to a man like that talk all day. Alistair would be the least likely I would want to have for dinner. As the villain in Familial Witch his actions and manners are shall we say somewhat lacking for polite society.

Jerri : Can you share a little of your current work with us?

Bri: Yes. This is an excerpt from Familial Witch releasing with Astrea Press on Feb 14, 2011.

“Could you open the door please?” she asked, her arms full indicating the door in the wood floor. Instead, he stood on top of it relieving the burdens from her arms.

“I will do no such thing. There is no reason why you can’t wash up right here.” Her face flushed. “That’s not what I mean,” he exclaimed laying her stuff down. The heat of guilt coated her cheeks standing out on her flushed complexion.

“Bloody hell.” he threw his hands up in the air. “It’s like dealing with a maiden.” He stirred the soup. Aisleen sat the rest of her stuff down as her temper rose.

“I may not be a maiden, but I am no trallop either, and it’s not like I can send you down there. You are far too large for the space.”

One of his dark brows arched while a half smile adorned part of his sensual lips.

“We are going to be stuck in here together…why don’t I just string up a cloth in the corner for both of us to use?” he offered. She answered him by handing him the cloth and twine. Busying herself adding vegetables and spices to the stew, she ignored him. When he was done, he took over the stirring and she lit a candle to take with her behind the curtain. Before she disappeared Lucien caught her eye and winked. She huffed in response jerking the blanket back.

Bri Clark
Author with Astrea Press and Stone House Ink
briclarkthebelleofboise.blogspot.com

Gorgeous cover, Bri,  and the book sounds fabulous. Thank you so much! I appreciate you coming by to chat.

