On week # 6 with All Things Romantic Suspense I have Chris Redding who lives in New Jersey with her husband, two kids and various animals. She graduated from Penn State with a degree in Journalism. When she isn’t writing, she works part time for her local hospital.

So, let’s get to it, when did you first realize you wanted to be a writer?

Chris: I was about ten and read a story I’d written in front of class. I actually had them in awe, sort of? It was a cool feeling. Instead of being the outsider, I was cool for one brief moment.

Jerri: I can relate to feeling like an outsider in school. I was terribly shy–still am to a point. Okay, where do you get your information or ideas for your books?

Chris: From everywhere. TV, the newspaper. I’m always thinking about how I would put my spin on a story.

Jerri: I think most writer do. What do you like to do when you’re not writing?

Chris: If it were a perfect world, I would cross stitch and sew more, but between a part time job, being mom and wife and writing and promoting, there isn’t a lot of free time. I end up doing mindless things just to decompress from my day. I have a big farm on Farmville.

 Jerri: I’m not much of a game player but I was raised on a farm. Seeing that we both write romantic suspense, what do you think makes a good suspenseful story?

Chris: The writer must keep the reader guessing. If the reader knows what is going to happen, there is no reason to finish the book.

Jerri: Very true. So, let’s talk about the characters you create. Which of your characters is most/least like you, and in what way(s)?

Chris: I think I put a piece of myself in everyone of my heroines. The least like me is easy. Jennifer O’Grady in The Drinking Game. I actually wasn’t fond of her at first. She’s a little prissy.  The character most like me is a little harder. Maybe Chelsea James in Incendiary is more like me. She isn’t afraid of any man and she’s determined to do what needs to be done.

Jerri: I think all women learn those things as they get older. How about this, which of your characters would you most/least want to invite to dinner, and why?

Chris: Jake Sweeney from Incendiary. He’s a hot firefighter. What’s not to love about that? I LOVE firefighters!

Jerri: Then maybe you’ll like Knox in my contemporary novel, Fire & Ice. He is a hot firefighter too. Now, can you share a little of your current work with us?

Chris: Right now I am going through edits of A View to a Kilt which will be out in electronically in July. It’s about a tough, funny interior decorator who may know the information to solve the murder of a former FBI agent’s wife. The heroine was fun to write because she tells jokes throughout. If you’re blonde she tells you blonde jokes and so on.

Blurb for Incendiary:

Chelsea James, captain of her local first aid squad, is trying to keep the organization afloat, but someone is sabotaging her. The squad is her father’s legacy and she feels responsible to keep it going.

Jake Sweeney, back in town after a decade, is investigating the arsons he was accused of long ago. When they start again Chelsea and Jake must join forces to defeat their mutual enemy.

Jake would like to rekindle what they had before he left town, but his departure left Chelsea hurt and bewildered. To begin again, she must learn to trust him.

Her life could depend on it.

Here is a link to Chris’s website  http://chrisreddingauthor.com/

