Today, in care of All Things Romantic Suspense I have Ursula Grey here. So, when did you first realize you wanted to be a writer, Ursula? 



Ursula: Ever since I learned how to read. I’ve always believed that writers were the most amazing people! Anyone who could create the magic living inside the pages of a book were special folk indeed. I wanted to be one of those people.

Jerri: How long does it take you to write a book?

Ursula: It depends. I usually let my work settle for a bit before starting the editing process, and then again before submitting my work to a publisher. Perhaps I’d work better with a deadline, but I wouldn’t want the quality of my work to suffer because of it. So, to answer your question, anywhere from three to nine months depending on the length of the story.

Jerri: How did you come up with the title?




Ursula: Usually they just come to me, but I don’t think I’m that good at it. I see so many captivating titles and think, why couldn’t I have come up with something like that! I’ve read a few places that you shouldn’t give your book a title until it’s finished ~ I usually end up going with a variation of the file name I saved it as!

Jerri: Is there a messages in your novel/s that you want readers to grasp?




Ursula: I think so. Most of my work involves characters that overcome obstacles to become the people they were meant to be. It doesn’t matter where they came from, only that they arrive at their destination of choice. Another message in my writing is that true love exists ~ and that it transcends time.

Jerri: What does your family think of your writing?

Ursula: The only person who knows of my writing is my husband, and he thinks it’s great! Most of my work is on the spicy side…

Jerri: How many books have you written?

Ursula: So far I have published, one full-length novel, two novellas, and one short story. I do have several works in progress…the difficult part is deciding which to finish first.

Jerri: Which is your favorite?


Ursula: Each of them is special to me, but I’d have to say my latest, Adelaide’s Adventure. Maybe it’s just me, but I feel that with each work, my writing improves a little. At least that’s my hopeJ.

Jerri: Do you read reviews of your books? If so, do you pay any attention to them, or let them influence your writing?




Ursula: Funny you should ask that question because I’ve been thinking about it a lot lately. At first, reviews were very important to me. I’m deeply touched by a great review and any kind words regarding my work. However, I also understand that individual tastes vary greatly, and what one person thinks is amazing, another finds just so-so. I know how difficult it is to write a book and when I read reviews that are mean-spirited it makes me sad. You don’t have to like a book, but neither is it necessary to rip the author’s work to shreds. I just don’t get it. So, the answer is, yes I do read my reviews when I find them, but they will never influence my writing.

Thank you so much for stopping by, Ursula! To learn more visit her at

http://ursulagrey.wordpress.com/

Jerri

